The Idea Generator - Quick and Easy Kaizen

B

Bill Ryan - 2007

Has anyone out there read this book (co-authored by Norman Bodek) and if so, any comments?

I'm asking in the vein of trying to put something in place for our operators to get more involved in the "Continuos Improvement" cycle. I have no experience with Kaizen principles but have heard a few speakers at our section ASQ meetings rave about their "adapted" Kaizen programs.

Bill

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
S

Scott Thor

I read this book a few months ago and it had some good advice. What I really learned from this book is that Kaizen should work on fixing small problems that can be implemented quickly. The authors seem to reinforce this theme throughout the book. I've adopted a lot of what I learned to my personal life as well and it's helped out quite a bit.

The only thing I didn't like about the book was the quality of the book itself. The printing is too close to the binding making it hard to hold open. Also, there isn't much room in the margins to take notes.

Overall I think this book is a good read. It's simple enough that just about anyone can comprehend the concept of Kaizen.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
M MSDS process audit - Can any one give idea for checklist of the same Occupational Health & Safety Management Standards 14
Marc Quiz - Where did the idea of an assembly line come from? Coffee Break and Water Cooler Discussions 4
M Supplier Management outsourcing - Business idea Supplier Quality Assurance and other Supplier Issues 8
Sidney Vianna LinkedIn bug - Anyone has any idea of how to fix this? Posts not showing for me in a Group feed. Coffee Break and Water Cooler Discussions 2
N A Goal without a Plan is just an Idea ... or - Management Review Meetings and related Processes 11
J Is getting a UDI Consultant a good idea? Other Medical Device Regulations World-Wide 4
G QMS - Selling the idea to the CEO! Quality Manager and Management Related Issues 8