Hi there-

I am working on a IVD disposable for which there is a categorical (pass / fail) test. I have looked at the standard sampling plans for relatively tight acceptable quality limits, and I find the output results to be slightly odd: the sample size doesn't go over a large range of lot sizes. For example, for a 0.1% AQL, for a 100 piece lot, I need to 100% test. For 1000, I test 125, for 10000, I test 125. I am not a stats expert, but this doesn't seem right to me. Surely the percentage sampled should decline as lot sizes grow, but I would imagine a 10,000 part lot should require more parts tested than 1000.

Is there a different methodology y'all could recommend that is defensible from a regulatory perspective but also contains more logically sound sampling frequency?

Thanks for your help,
Nick

John Predmore

Involved In Discussions
The question [was originally] titled Statistical Process Control. But the question asks about sampling plans and AQL. They do not have the same objective. SPC uses data from a time ordered samples to detect trends or special causes affecting the process average in a stream of parts from a manufacturing process. Conventional SPC does not use part acceptance limits and does not judge part acceptance directly. One advantage of SPC is when it reacts to signals in the data before out-of-limits parts are produced.

Acceptance sampling uses random samples of a (presumably) homogeneous lot of parts already made. Acceptance sampling does not give direct process feedback, except in hindsight, in macroscopic terms (this lot of 10,000 widgets is rejected). Even if all lots have the same % non-conforming, sampling will accept some lots and reject others, and the rejected lots will be no different from the accepted. Acceptance sampling is justified only in comparison with 100% inspection, which is always more expensive.