SBS - The best value in QMS software

Tips and Tricks to understand ISO 9001

Hi All!!
I will preface this by saying I am totally new to the world of ISO 9001, etc... I come from the world of Strength and Conditioning so I am very much learning on the fly. I work for a small (9 employee) company that produces two products. I am wondering if anyone has any tips or tricks to help me wrap my head around everything that is ISO 9001.

Thanks in advance!!

Adam

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Mike S.

Happy to be Alive
Trusted Information Resource
We need some more context to give a good answer. Is the company already ISO 9001 certified? What will be your responsibilities with respect to ISO 9001?

We need some more context to give a good answer. Is the company already ISO 9001 certified? What will be your responsibilities with respect to ISO 9001?

We are not yet certified so I am tasked with preparing us for our first audit in a few months time. And essentially, I am in charge of making sure we are ISO compliant in regards to 9001. We are already 13485 compliant for another product that we make. But just trying to grasp all that is ISO at the moment.

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
There's plenty of overlap between ISO 13485:2016 and ISO 9001:2015. The biggest difference is that ISO 13485:2016 chose to NOT follow the common high-level structure (Annex SL). 13485 focuses "risk based thinking" at the product level (risk to patients, users, etc.). 9001 risk-based thinking is more business-based (with all the context of the organization and risks and opportunities stuff). Many of the 'fundamentals' (quality policy / objectives, document control, etc.) are pretty common. 9001 doesn't require (but doesn't prohibit) a quality manual. 9001 eliminated "preventive actions' (from CAPA). The management review in 9001 is a bit broader.