TMV - Selection of TM's for Validation

Hi all,

I am new to Test method Validation in Medical Device industry>

1. Does anyone know how to select test methods for TMV.
2. I have been reading about Variability and Attributes methods. Is there a checklist or set of questions which would make it easier to find test methods which would require Validation?? I know that not all test methods needs to be validated.
3. Say for example, a test method have steps involved to measure the final voltage output. What if its measured using a custom tool which is calibrated. Do we still have to validate considering there wont be any variability when we use a calibrated gage ??
4. In that case, does it mean a test method need not be validated if the testing equipment are calibrated?? I know these could be dumb questions but wanted to understand the TMV process.

Thanks in advance,
Bala

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

levatorsuperioris

Involved In Discussions
1,2 its no different from TMV in any industry, all test methods require Ver or Validation. Only exceptions are test methods written in standards.
3 - yes you need to validation
4 see 3.

Only difference is the level is based on risk per 14971.

Seeing your thought processes - you may want to take a step back and or get some help, you are making a lot of assumptions that typically end with very expensive results.

levatorsuperioris

Involved In Discussions
TMV and MSA is a fairly extensive topic - but please keep in mind alot of what you are typing would flash danger signs in seasoned QMS people.

TMV is 1) measurement tool x part x user performign the measurement. Calibration would at *best cover 1. Gage R&R alone does nto cover MSA, you need also gage qualification as well. The same rules 10x Resolution, etc all apply.

levatorsuperioris

Involved In Discussions