Tolerance on Thread Angle - Drawing calls for M4 external thread to BS3643

B

barbter

Hi All,
1st time newbie here, and hopefully posting this in the correct place...

This could be a silly question but....

Drawing calls for M4 external thread to BS3643 (by memory).
What angular tolerance is there on the 60 degree form?

I looked through an old(ish) copy of part 1 and 2, and can't see it for the life of me.
Our gauge supplier's said there was (by memory) +/-16 minutes on the gauge, but they couldn't find what tolerance should apply to the component.

Anyone got any ideas?
Thanks,
Terry

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Hi All,
1st time newbie here, and hopefully posting this in the correct place...

This could be a silly question but....

Drawing calls for M4 external thread to BS3643 (by memory).
What angular tolerance is there on the 60 degree form?

I looked through an old(ish) copy of part 1 and 2, and can't see it for the life of me.
Our gauge supplier's said there was (by memory) +/-16 minutes on the gauge, but they couldn't find what tolerance should apply to the component.

Anyone got any ideas?
Thanks,
Terry

Terry,

Welcome to The Cove Forums! :bigwave: :bigwave:

I noticed that you posted the same question on other Forums...;)

The standard you are referring to is BS 3643:2007.

We have a few thread/gauge expert Members here. It is weekend, somewhat quiet here, but I am sure that you will get a response. :yes:

Stijloor.

B

barbter

Thanks for the welcome.
Yes, I posted it over at Practical Machinist forum, but to no avail.

Anyone here can help please?
Thanks

Wayne

Gage Crib Worldwide
This could be a silly question but...
Terry; it is said that there is no such thing as a silly question, but then you have: What color is 5 x 6?:biglaugh:
Now that we have settled that, your question has merit.:cool:
Drawing calls for M4 external thread to BS3643.