Tools used for measuring (New to metrology)

Rvija

Registered
Hi,my work is creating inspection plans for drawings/part spec/label using Inspection xpert in a medical device manufacturing company. I am very new to this. I don't get to actually use the tools to measure it (funny ha?), but I have to just look at the cad /solidworks dwg and understand which method to put in the inspection form, along with the Inspection code. I am lost but trying to learn very hard. What I do gets inspected by am experienced inspector who doesn't really encourage learning (he thinks I do t have the ability to learn). I appreciate his help but not the discouraging words when I ask him to explain something. Does anyone have a discussion thread here or an appropriate source to help me? For eg: If a diameter is shown, how do I know,if a vernier or vision system or micrometer is better ? I get the idea about gage (why is it gage and not Gauge??) pin usage lately. And certain other stuff which I am learning every day. Thank you in advance

Johnny Quality

Quite Involved in Discussions
Rvija,

Welcome.

Your best bet would be to throw your questions here or here.

It's good that you're engaging with the people who perform the work you are planning.

For a start, the correct tool depends on the type of measurement, material, criticality of the dimension, what you'll use with the information, access of measurement, manufacturing method, expected variance, tolerance and many other factors that I've missed.