Training Machinists on Company Processes

Quality_Goblin

Involved In Discussions
Hi All,

I am new to the role of Training Coordinator at my company (and in general). We are ISO 9001/13485 and AS9100 certified. I am trying to figure out the best way to train the shop floor employees on our company policies, procedures and individual processes. The previous coordinator has created a myriad of useful PowerPoint presentations and tests and we have also recently tried to use an Learning Management System. But we have a couple issues that make training difficult. Firstly, while I enjoy the PowerPoints, I can't seem to get the attention of the machinists when I give them. I've caught them nodding off, or playing on their phones, and I can just tell by looking at them that they aren't paying attention. This goes for new hires as well as seasoned employees who are taking refresher trainings with me. In regards to the LMS, we don't really have the infrastructure to provide a quiet place with a personal computer and headphones for someone to use and learn. While in the past, the Quality department was in charge of giving trainings to all other departments, the CQO wants to change it to where the department leads are the ones who train their employees and I can coordinate the trainings if needed, or just do the more general trainings such as New Employee Orientation, but leave the rest of the trainings up to the Supervisors for their departments.

So I have a few questions:

• What is a good immersive way to train the machinists (and other employees) so they aren't bored and will retain what they have been taught?
  • How can I do checkups to ensure they are following their processes?
  • What is a good LMS for a manufacturing company to use? We currently use 180 Skills and it's only ok.
  • How to create an effective training schedule that is easily followed by all involved - supervisor, training coordinator, employee