True Position Question - What does this print callout mean?

C

Coleman Donnelly

I have a callout on my print that i have never seen before - hopefully someone here can help me interpit what the print means:
Print Callout.jpg

D

Dean Frederickson

Coleman I have looked in both my Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing handbooks, I can't find anything that even remotely resembles what you have there. Where is the print from, what country? :(

D

David DeLong

I have been training in this subject for over 20 years and certified through ASME in the subject but I can only help you a bit. This certainly isn't to the ASME Y14.5M-94 standard.

I do see a diameter of 26.75 that does have a GD&T callout (maybe positional) that I have never seen before. The primary datum is A with a secondary of B & C (could be correct but I would have to see the drawing) but I have never seen such a modifier on the secondary datum. The tertiary datum is D.

I wish that I could help you more.

N

NCYankee

My best guess is that they are looking for a True Position of 1 mm diameter to datum -A-, and datum -B-. I'm not sure what the circle with the double lines running from the center out the top is meant to mean (possibly a funky way of calling out concentricity), so I can't say for sure about datums -B- and -C-.

The best thing you could do is call the supplier who provided the drawing, or even your own engineering department, who should have reviewed this drawing as part of contract review and/or APQP.

On a humorous note, doesn't the callout for the 1 mm diameter look eerily like Nessie or Champ? :lol:

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
I have a callout on my print that i have never seen before - hopefully someone here can help me interpret what the print means:
Print Callout.jpg

Coleman,

What would helps us:
  • Origin of the print (country)
  • A copy of the entire print (if permitted)
  • Possible standard used (look in the title block)