Two Gauges (Gages) - Two measurements correlation I do not know how to explain

D

Devlin

Hi,

I have two gauges, A and B, and I used them to measure 31 samples. Attached is the results. However, as I calculate the correlation between L1-L1, L2-L2, L3-L3 and L4-L4 of A and B, the correlations of them are interesting which I have no knowledge. For example, L1-L1 correlation is around 60% and L2-L2 is about 30%. However, as I checked the raw data of L2-L2, I feel that the data measured by A and B are pretty close or nearly same. Did I use wrong formula? I use Correl() in the Excel.

Thanks,

Attachments

• Correlation.xls
    19 KB · Views: 471

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
Re: Two gauges - Two measurements correlation I do not know how to explain

A quick look at the scatter diagrams (aka Youden Plots) shows that you don't have much variation in teh parts you measured vs the measurement error this can lead to misinterpretation of any statistical test.

A few points: correlation and regression are not appropriate statistical tests for measurement error. (You can use them but they must be interpreted with caution as they are not designed to assess measurement error directly.)

The intraclass correlation coefficient was designed to assess measurement error; the Youden plot was designed to display measurement error including comparisons of two or more gauges; the Bland -Altman and paired t tests are also applicable for method comparison.

I have attached a document briefly describing each of these as well as a spreadsheet that perfroms the calculations and plots the data.

Did you assess the repeatability of the individual guages first? without knwoing if the guages themselves are repeatable, any analysis of gauge to gauge performance is tenous at best.

can you describe what L1, L2 L3 and L4 refer to?

did your samples span the full range of known variation? what are the spec limits?

Attachments

• MSA.doc
    131.5 KB · Views: 674