Understanding and implementing ISO 17025

D

dennisje182

Hello everyone, I hope it is the right sub-forum,

Since I’m new here, I’ll introduce my situation a little bit first. I’m a newbie on quality systems but somehow I got hired to implement a ISO 17025 standard for this company that does 3D scanning, measuring of complicated organic and geometric forms and calibrating of measuring devices and 3d scanners (so it is a laboratory). I got hired as an Application engineer, but my boss thought it would be good to get to know the company by also doing this accreditation. When I started here beginning of April (small, 7 employees), they had already started the QM and a scope. The scope is about done and I’m trying to fill in the holes that are still there in the QM, the QM is done for about 80 %. I figured out how the QM relates to the standard, and I understand the hierarchy of the system (and found this forum looking for the difference between procedures and working instructions, which made me rewrite a few procedures and move a some stuff to WI).

Since it just became clear to me this week how the standard works (my boss didn’t have the standard, and like I said, I’m a newbie on quality systems), I would like to get some things verified for myself and I got some questions so I hope you all can help me. My boss isn’t a quality systems guru either and he thinks everything I do to get more overall insight on all the processes in his company are great (so I need to watch out I don’t forget my second thought below :p ).

My thoughts:
- Everywhere in the standard where it says shall there should be a policy in the QM, so also a procedure. In the procedures I refer to the relevant working instructions and forms. Right?
- Don’t write procedures just for the sake of having procedures for something. It has to add (and relate) to relevant points in the standard and QM?

Questions:
- Do procedures and working instructions both have flow charts?