USA ? Military Specifications Questions

A

Arturo Rosales

USA – Military Specifications Questions

Hello you all…

I don’t know how many of you are suppliers (Material/Products) to the USA Department of Defense (Military Contracts) but I have one question, if somebody can bring some light into this subject it will be appreciated.
(I have always work in commercial contracts, this is my first time working as supplier for the Military)

We have military specifications like MIL-R-6855 (AMS-R-6855) and MIL-R-6130C, just to mention this two, that required on section 3.1 First Article to be perform per section 4.3 First Article Test. The first article test needs to be performed per table VII.

 It is my understanding that First Article Report need to be perform on the beginning of the production run, to confirm that we are under control conditions.
 We have all of our suppliers (rubber manufacturers) that are selling us, raw material per Military Specifications and I’m asking them to provide a certificate of compliance with test reports per the military specification and I’m finding out that they will perform the test only if requested. I don’t understand how can they sell material per a MIL spec. If they don’t perform the test as required.

My problem is that I’m finding out, that these manufacturers are selling some thing that is not, and if I ask them to provide test reports (evidence that the material passes all requirements) they will charge extra.
I did send a sample to an outside lab to confirm that material was ok AND IT FAILED….

I don’t know if it is because I’m new to the industry or this is the way they do business, but I don’t like it.

Our sales department is telling me that they don’t know from other competitors and customers that requires test reports, they have been asking around and most of the people have not even read the Mil-Spec!!!!!.
For what I understand when you sell a product to the government you are responsible for your supplier.