Using Google Drive/Docs

KarenA01

Involved In Discussions
First let me say I'm not sure where this should go as I need to talk bout both ISO-9001 and 13485

I'm new to Quality and ISO regulations (my background is as a chemist who has worked both in manufacturing- many years ago- and R&D), and while I have been exposed to GMP and had some GMP training, I never personally had to work under the regs (I spent almost 14 years at a drug delivery startup that got to an NDA submission, but I was in R&D and did not wok under GMP- Got laid off from there about 13 years ago).

My current employer (small company now about 20ish people) pivoted from 100% R&D for over a decade, to a contract manufacturer of biologics (ferments) about 1.5 years ago... My employer realized that we needed to be ISO 9001 to get enough business last year... and more recently that we could get significantly more/higher margin business if we were ISO 13485 certified.

Last year we started on the path to ISO certification... and towards the end of this month will be having Pre-Audit with the registrar and hopefully be certified by early summer... and then start working towards 13485...

Though as we don't make medical devices or anything going into medical devices I'm not sure how 13485 applies to us and to what degree... We COULD potentially make things that would be raw materials for use in making things likes vaccines or incorporated into diagnostic test reagents etc as well as cosmetics. From what we see in this industry companies that get Iso 13485 advertise as "GMP like"... Does that make a difference to how the standard is applied?

Since I had a Pharma background, somehow recently I wound up as Director of Quality (A job I never expected to have!) ... While I think I have a reasonable 1000ft grasp of the general principles, I know the devil is always in the details.