SBS - The best value in QMS software

Validity of Using NCR's to evaluate Performance

K

KMatthew

Hello,

I am relatively new to the Quality Control Supervisor role as I was given the position due to a need to QC and ISO implementation. Since then I have been working to develop and maintain a Quality System for a small company. There is the introduction, now onto the discussion.

Every month my GM and I gather for a monthly quality meeting, in this meeting I present to him my monthly report graphing a number of things, but mostly what stikes his attention is the NCR category. Our NCR procedure states that we write an NCR for anything/process/person that is nonconforming, so that being said the majority of NCR's that I write are for rejected/nonconforming parts & materials (whether supplier related or internal yield).

Until about 3 months ago I hadn't been able to establish/implement a routine for cleaning up and logging rejection and so-forth, however my GM has requested for me to graph NCRs back 1 year from the date of the meeting (we had them, but not to extent that we have now). He believes that the graphs should reflect personal efficacy in the position and the sucessful reduction of NCRs, however each of the yearly graphs are skewed as any information prior to 2013 is unreliable as the QMS wasn't established until mid 2012.

My question/discussion is. What is the validty of using NCRs to evaluate personal/departmental effectiveness?

As I see it there are a number of outliers than can directly correlate to fluctuations in the prevalence of NCRs, such as: changing of vendors, introduction of new parts/products/materials, number of orders a month, number of employees working...etc.

What are your thoughts/experiences.

What is the most effective way to chart and document NCRs?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
K

KMatthew

Re: Validty of Using NCR's to evaluate Performance