What are all the possible building blocks or inputs for a process?

M

MarkJoel

What are all the possibile building blocks or inputs for a process?

I want to create a document that defines how to create process documents.

Is there one out there?
If so please post!

Please use plain english since I am a novice!

C

Craig H.

Mark:

You are asking a lot here, and I'll tell you why.

When you are creating process documents, it is best to remember what the document is to be used for, and who is using it. That gives a perspective from which to start.

For instance, take a basic process of, say, washing a car. The guy with the sponge may need to be told "..turn on the water to the hose. The valve is under the cover in the floor near the back roll up door. Turn the valve counter-clockwise until the desired presure is reached." The folks in the office, on the other hand, may be able to do their work with "...spray the car with water...".

In your case, I would try to standardize which flowcharting shapes mean what (start of process, decision diamond, etc.). Going much further than that will be problematic, IMO.

Good luck, and hope this helps.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mike S.

Happy to be Alive
Trusted Information Resource
Craig makes good points. Perhaps it would help you to see some examples. I know there are many process flow charts posted here -- try a search using "process flow" and I'll bet you see big threads with lotsa examples.

M

M Greenaway

Try reading up on a recognised process mapping approach, such as IDEF0.

G

Greg B

MarkJoel said:

Is there one out there?
If so please post!

Hi Mark,

Here is a small training package I put together some time ago and put it up on the cove in May 2003. (You may use it but please remember where you got it from)
http://elsmar.com/Forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=810

And here is the thread it is from

http://elsmar.com/Forums/showthread.php?t=6059