What do we need for a DMR? Importer of Record and Going Crazy!

S

SuperGirl

Hi, I am new to the Medical Device World and am the Quality and Regulatory Affairs Manager of the Small Medical Device Company. (I came from working in a QC Lab for a pharma company) We don't actually make any thing, but we are the importer of record of all of the products. Our Quality Consultant is very confussing and I'm kind of at a stand still. :bonk:The Consults say we need to have a device master record the list all of the spefication and references all the SOPs that go in to making the device as well as the testing, but when I attempt to get the infomation from our suppliers/contractos, they won't give up the information.

THE QUESTION: What do we need for a DMR?

Thanks! :thanx:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
M

MIREGMGR

Re: Importer of Record and Going Crazy!

I assume that when you say you are the "importer of record", you mean two things:

1. You have been designated by the Manufacturer as their United States Agent.
2. You are the products' Initial Importer, and your company is FDA Registered in this role.

(See http://www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/D...ce/ImportingandExportingDevices/ucm050126.htm.)

The Manufacturer of a medical device to be marketed within the US has full responsibility for that medical device's design and manufacture, whether the Manufacturer is located within the US or elsewhere. This includes having a 21CFR820 compliant quality system and maintaining a DMR and manufacturing records, among other things.

This responsibility cannot be offloaded to either the US Agent or the Initial Importer. Thus I don't understand why your consultant would suggest that your company, fulfilling those roles but not being the Manufacturer, would need to maintain a DMR.