What Do You Define as a Customer Complaint?

M

murban

Does anyone have a list of what Customer Complaints would be? I know there could be, short shipments, over shipments, ship wrong parts, not on time, defective parts, shipped to wrong address, the list could go on and on. Are there certain categories that should always be used.

Thanks,

Mark

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

JodiB

Still plugging along
Mark,

I'm not experienced at this so my approach may be naive. Take it with a grain of salt...

I divided our customer satisfaction procedure into "feedback" and "complaints". I defined "complaints" as a customer statement that our products or services do not meet requirements and/or expectations. Feedback was defined as a comment regarding features, characteristics,etc. etc. and that only communication that does not require a response or resolution of a problem could be classified as customer feedback.

Then I set up categories for both of them. I used the categories you mentioned as well as "insufficient or inadequate operating manuals", "problems with communication and responsiveness", "incorrect invoicing" and some others. I tried to cover the range of our activities where the customer could reasonably be expected to lodge a complaint.

I think that the only category that you could say is always used is "Other" !:biglaugh:

Categorizing Customer Complaints