Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.

What happens during a Stage 1 MDSAP audit?

racglobal

Involved In Discussions
Hello,

Can somebody shed some light on what happens during a Stage 1 MDSAP audit? Suppose the company is manufacturing a pilot device for the first time, does this mean by Stage 1, we should have manufactured a device and have at our disposal all the documentation associated with the manufacturing of the device? Or is this material for Stage 2 audit?

Can somebody clarify what documentation is reviewed at Stage 1 and what does Stage 2 involve?

Because I am new to this , I'd be interested in knowing what happens at each Stage of the MDSAP audit. I'd appreciate any input.

Thanks

LUFAN

Starting to get Involved
My previous company's stage 1 was two man days. One off-site day where we sent every document we thought she needed to perform a Doc review, and then about a month later she came on-site and did a 1-Day audit where she selectively looked at processes. At the end of stage 1, she recommended us for a stage 2. We then had to do corrective actions, and have them complete by the Stage 2.

Stage 2 is a full QMS audit where they will look at absolutely everything, some way more in depth than others. On FDA's website there is a audit duration calculator that will tell you based on what you can exclude in your QMS, how long a Stage 2 audit will be. In my experience, count on 4-6 man days depending on the risk of your device.