What to do to keep ISO 13485 cert when medical device is not produced anymore?

D

DRDDO

Dear Team,
I am new comer, DRDDO = Dr. D Do.
My company is ISO 13485 certified. But now we stop produce Medical device.
Surveillance audit will be conducted next week.
How to protect the certificate?
Thanks,
DRDDO

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
Re: How to do if when audit medical device is stop produced anymore?,

Dear Team,
I am new comer, DRDDO = Dr. D Do.
My company is ISO 13485 certified. But now we stop produce Medical device.
Surveillance audit will be conducted next week.
How to protect the certificate?
Thanks,
DRDDO

Welcome to the Cove, DRDDO :D

I'm not an expert in this area, but it seems like this is a good question to ask your registrar. I'm assuming that you would want to claim ISO 9001 certification in the absence of manufacture of medical devices. The ISO website says this:
[ISO 13485] includes some particular requirements for medical devices and excludes some of the requirements of ISO 9001 that are not appropriate as regulatory requirements. Because of these exclusions, organizations whose quality management systems conform to this International Standard cannot claim conformity to ISO 9001 unless their quality management systems conform to all the requirements of ISO 9001.
[Emphasis added]

DannyK

Trusted Information Resource
It all depends on what are the plans of the company.If you are planning on producing a medical device in the future then it would be worthwhile to try to maintain. For the survaillance audit you could show evidence of the last several lots produced.

If you are also ISO 9001:2000 registered, then you can drop the ISO 13485 certificate.

You should be up front with the auditor and registrar and explain the situation. Maybe they can present you with a good alternative.

D

DRDDO

Dear Team,
My Audtor said, he will audit non MDD production line that quite similar to MDD production line, but Minor CAR will be raised, because it is not MDD.