What to expect in a Design Dossier Review for CE Marking by a Notified Body

A

AB2415

Hello all.

I am tasked with generating and presenting a design dossier to a reviewer for a notified body for CE marking for the first time. My employer has asked that I provide information to the project team on what to expect during this review, etiquette, etc. prior to the review.

Since I have no experience in design dossier reviews, this is difficult to do. Can anyone provide me with their personal experience, or direct me to informative resources that you are aware of?

I appreciate any help I can get!

Ronen E

Problem Solver
Re: What to expect in a design dossier review for CE marking by notified body

Hello all.

I am tasked with generating and presenting a design dossier to a reviewer for a notified body for CE marking for the first time. My employer has asked that I provide information to the project team on what to expect during this review, etiquette, etc. prior to the review.

Since I have no experience in design dossier reviews, this is difficult to do. Can anyone provide me with their personal experience, or direct me to informative resources that you are aware of?

I appreciate any help I can get!

Hello and welcome to the Cove :bigwave:

What directive is this CE marking under?

A

AB2415

Thanks for the welcome!

It is under 93/42/EEC.

Ronen E

Problem Solver

From 93/42/EEC, Annex II:

4. Examination of the design of the product

4.1. In addition to the obligations imposed by Section 3, the manufacturer must lodge with the notified body an application for examination of the design dossier relating to the product which he plans to manufacture and which falls into the category referred to in Section 3.1.

4.2. The application must describe the design, manufacture and performances of the product in question. It must include the documents needed to assess whether the product conforms to the requirements of this Directive, as referred to in Section 3.2 (c).