Capability analysis for Geometric tolerances?

alek333

Registered
Hello,

I have been searching throughout the internet for an answer to my questions but I can't quite find what I'm looking for. Looking through previous threads on this forum, I'm having a hard time understanding... I'm only a novice in statistics so forgive me.

I'm trying to assess the capability of various GD&T features such as true position, flatness, perpendicularity etc.
I'm supposed to calculate the Cpk and Ppk of the collected data from these features.

But does this make sense??
I thought the AIAG manual says that we have to assume normality and a two sided specification in order to calculate Cpk and Ppk?
From my understanding, data from true position/flatness etc will probably not be a normal distribution and it is not a two sided specification. Yoiu can't get past 0...also you want to get 0 as close as possible.

So with that in mind, how are Cpk and Ppk calculations done with these GD&T features?

Using the latest version of Minitab I can put 0 as the lower spec limit and select it as a hard boundary and I guess that can be used to calculate Cpk and Ppk in these situations?

I'm assuming I have to transform the data beforehand to normal distribution/select a different distribution model before doing that though. Will this give me something meaningful? I don't know if Minitab accounts for that when you select that lower boundary option.

Also does Ppk need to have a normally distributed data set in order to be accurate, or is that only for Cpk?

So many questions, I'm sorry.

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
This is how Minitab treats Boundaries.
1707145275953.png