Gage R&R Newbie - Everything is Failing!

B

breitman

Hello All,

I am new to Quality Assurance and to Elsmar. Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my thread!

I have only performed a few R&R's and I cant make sense of any of it. I understand that you collect 10 parts over a period of time (for part variation), have 2 or more people test the parts 2 or more times. Once I enter the data my GR&R % is always too high and my NDC is always too low.

Example: we recently performed a GR&R on our CMM. 3 people, 10 parts, 2 times. The GR&R% is at 47.67

Any thoughts or advice would be wonderful!

howste

Thaumaturge
Trusted Information Resource
Re: GR&R Newbie- Everything is Failing!

My first guess is that you don't have enough variation in the parts (as shown by low NDC). Ideally you would want parts spanning the entire range of the tolerance. It's also possible that the measuring equipment doesn't have enough discrimination (needs higher resolution).

Beyond that, it's tough to diagnose with the information you've provided. Can you attach your data?

B

breitman

Thank you Howste!

How can I get more part variation? I've collected parts over a period of time and they seem to measure about the same.

I've attached the CMM report. Not sure if this is what your looking for.

Sorry for the delete

Attachments

• DOC001.PDF
    34.9 KB · Views: 260

Danny Hoover

Involved In Discussions

Hello!
It looks like you have quite different readings between operators. Does the part get checked in a fixture. I would make sure everyone loads the part the exact same way(according to instructions), look for good net contact, etc.
We try and run a gage R (1x10) study initially to work out any load problems.
DH

B

breitman

The part gets held onto the surface plate of the CMM by a screw and a clamp.

How can i get more part variation?

howste

Thaumaturge