"Simplified" AS9100 and ISO 9001 Internal Audit Checklists

D

dsh205

Hi All !!!

My name is Scott and I'm new to the Quality Engineering/Management world.

A little background on myself: I've work in the aircraft engine business since 1984. I have 10 yrs a as tool and die maker, 16 years as a manufacturing/design engineer and I've spent the last year splitting duties as a Project/Quality engineer. As of December 1st this year I've moved into quality full time.

Now to my question ....

I've spent some time searching but could not find, a "simplified" internal audit checklist for ISO 9001:2008 & AS9100C. The one which is currently being used is cumbersome and confusing to use. Does anyone have one that I could use or suggest a good place to purchase one from?

Thanks
Scott

Last edited by a moderator:
C

ChrissieO

Re: Intro and internal audit question

Sorry I am not going to be much help as I can only suggest, don't use a check list. Check lists direct auditors to compliance tick box auditing and away from the true purpose which is to audit the process and can restrict the flow of an audit trail.

By following a process you will naturally cover clauses of the standards and over a annual audit plan you will almost certainly cover all elements of the standards to meet the requirements of the standards.

Chrissie

D

dsh205

Thanks Chrissie.

I understand following the process concept, but the checklist is the direction my management wants. Everything is to be brokeout section by section, personally I think this is done to appease the ISO/AS auditors.

Thanks
Scott

R

Randy Lefferts

Hi Scott and Welcome to the Cove.

At the top of any thread there is a graphic of a lighthouse that has the word "Solutions." If you look to the right of that you will see "Post Attachments List" and if you click on that, you can search for attachments that fellow covers have uploaded.