Internal auditor qualifications for product audits - TS 16949

A

atlantisind

I have viewed these discussion boards many times and gotten great information but this is my first time actually posting something.

We are working on our ISO/TS certification and have some differences of opinion regarding the product audits. Currently our Quality Control Manager performs them according to her own schedule. They are separate from all other internal audits and get audited by the auditors. She is not an internal auditor nor has she had any internal auditor training. Do the people who do the product audits need to be "qualified internal auditors" or since she is the QC Manager performing the audits and the qualified internal auditors audit those product audits, is that sufficient?

Any input would be a tremendous help.

Thanks,
Billie Jean

J

JRKH

Off the cuff

Simple answer is no.
I am assuming:
The QM is performing a task governed by a procedure.
This procedure has an output that is documented.
The Auditors verify that the process was performed correctly.

James

A

atlantisind

James-
Pardon my ignorance but did you mean no to our current process is not sufficient or no to our QM does not need to be a "qualified internal auditor"?

Our procedure states, "Dock audits are performed at a minimum of once per year for automotive parts that are produced during that year. These audits are performed to verify conformity to specified requirements, product dimensions, functionality, packaging, and labeling. Dock audits are separate from our internal quality audits as they are performed by Quality Control and records for these audits are maintained by Quality Control."

Thanks again,
BJ

A

Al Dyer

Welcome,

Personnel that perform product/dock audits do not need to be trained internal auditors. If fact it is a good idea to have as many people perform product audits as possible to look for faults in the system, gain confidence, learn differing processes etc...

Good luck!!!

Al...