Braided Tube Twisted Failure Mode - looking for advice

Milas

Involved In Discussions
Hi

I work as a Technical Manager for an organisation that produces catather that use a braided tube.

We are seeing an issue whereby after the catather has been manufactured, the catather is damaged whereby we can no longer fit a stylet inside. The failure mode indcates that the braided tube is twisted but there is no twisting motion in part of our manufacturing process.

Anyone who has knowledge or a good understanding of braided tubes used in medical devices who can help out, i would be grateful

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
I recommend contacting the supplier of the braided tubing and explaining the issue. They should be able to assist you in resolving it. I do not have experience with this particular product, but have experience with other plastics that can twist or warp. Temperature and forces such as high tensile forces can cause issues similar to this.

John Predmore

Trusted Information Resource
It sounds from the wording of your description you are not certain twisting is the failure mode. When you find a product where the stylet will not fit inside, can you cut open the catheter, and can you tell by visual examination whether twisting of the braided tube has occurred? If it is impossible to tell by visual examination, would it be permissible to mark a straight line on the braided tubes before assembly, then when you cut open samples, you can judge on the straightness of the line inside the assembly. To draw a conclusion about correlation, you should cut open both tubes which fit a stylet and tubes which do not, and be sure there is a statistical distinction on the straightness of the lines between two groups.