CQT Exam - Statistics

Kat Mouse

Registered
Hey all, brand new to the forum. I've been a Quality Assurance Technician and the NCMR Coordinator at my plant in Automotive and Aerospace manufacturing (thermal adhesives) for almost 3 and a half years. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Anthropology with minors in Archaeology, Earth Science and Spanish. My background doesn't scream (in a good way) for the statistics part of the CQT exam. I've been working on this since the beginning of August and have been using the CQT Handbook and the study materials that are included on the ASQ website for the course, plus the CQT Exam Question Sample Banks. I've also signed up to a Udemy course on Statistics, but I still seem to be flailing around trying to find sure footing. I've ready some of the other threads about book references like the CQT primer, CQE primer, the CQE Quick References Notes by Dodson (cannot find this anywhere), and I'm looking into those now. I've also read the tips on jotting down all of the exam questions and trying to find the references in the book for each one to help study better. I also just bought the ASQ Certified Quality Technician Practice Exams book by Beva Books on Amazon, but got frustrated after about an hour of trudging through questions I felt like I hadn't read anything about in any of the study materials.

My 2 biggest struggles are right now are Statistics and Measurement Tools. Statistics because I don't have a strong background in math (the last course I took was College Algebra 101 in 2007). Does anyone have any recommendations on any other study materials to help? My 2nd weakness is Measurement Tools. Is there a comprehensive list somewhere with pictures on tools? It seems like the neither the book or the study materials have a complete list of tools for types of jobs.

I learn best by seeing and doing in order to grasp concepts vs. reading alone. Any help would be appreciated.