Developing a CPI for First Pass Yield Final Inspection - Need help

M

mg101109

Hello! I am relatively new to projects and process improvement initiatives. I have been assigned a task that is a little overwhelming to me and I was hoping I could get some advice and gain some insight. Our first pass yield final inspection goal should be 95%, but it is at 88.6%. I have created the metric for tracking and trending the issues of non-conformance, as we didn't have that prior. I have completed a C&E (cause and effects) diagram. I thought I picked a few of the low hanging fruit that would be easy to perform root cause analysis on. I have 5 Why'd the issues to death and I am still not getting to the root of one of the problems. Nobody wants to own up to taking responsibility, all they want to do is point fingers. I keep reminding the employees that I am focused on the process, not the people, but come up short of the goal. How can I get the supervisors and employees actively engaged on improving the process and reducing errors? In turn reducing rework and scrap? Thanks for any help I might receive. MG

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator