Electrical Cable Harness Quality Control - Sampling Plan for Pull Test

L

LesPiles

Hello,

I need help. We do manufacturing of electrical cable harnesses (wire approx. AWG 16) and since we have had problems, we must do a pull test.

We have had 2-3 NC at customer sites. This was considered as a major NC.

I'm not an expert in pull tests but I know there are 3 standards : UL, MIL, and another. Since I have many other problems to resolve, I haven't found time yet to look at those :(.

We build the harnesses either by using a machine, and also with hand tool.

Question is : From the starting point that I know I have to do pull test, when, how and how much must I test ?

I plan to have a mechanical counter installed on a crimping machine and from this point, to test at the beginning of a lot, a few crimps after, in the middle of the lot, and at the end. Quite easy for automatic operation.

How can I control for the manual crimping operation ? Does someone has an example of log sheet ? Are those standards talk about monitoring ?
Idea I received is from store, when operator is picking its materials (crimps) to assemble the harness, we should issue some sheet to log at different intervals ...

Or we use SPC in a more traditionnal way e.g. we test one per x crimps that has been done ?

What should be the interval ? the method ? Major question is : for the manual operation, how will I be sure that operator really does its testing at the "correct" (predetermined) set interval ?

I'm surely not the only one that is facing this issue ! :)

Thank you in advance for all your help !

somashekar

Leader
Admin
Hello,

I need help. We do manufacturing of electrical cable harnesses (wire approx. AWG 16) and since we have had problems, we must do a pull test.

We have had 2-3 NC at customer sites. This was considered as a major NC.