ISO 9001:2008 Purchasing Requirements

W

WannaDoQA

Hello all. I'm relatively new to the forum but have been reading for a while. I can't find help anywhere else as I'm also relatively new to the field of quality management and ISO but am on my own to try to get some of these things figured out, so please bear with me.

We are a small wire harness manufacturing company, just to give some background. We buy connectors, terminals, and wire/cable and put it all together according to customer specifications. We maintain product traceability through internal Lot numbers.

We were recently audited by one of our customers and they had many findings resulting in issuing many Supplier Corrective Actions. We are not ISO certified but we are still trying to comply with ISO (and we said as such), thus we were audited to ISO 9001:2008. We had many ISO procedures in place from 1994 but were struggling trying to get up to speed with 2008. So, ultimately, it turned out not so good for us.

One of the findings was related to our Purchasing procedure, that parts are not being inspected but are certified on the C of C for products they buy from us, and that there is no evidence the parts can be traceable to the original manufacturer and material specification.

For example, for product 12345, we may have a customer requested C of C that states the certification of specific attributes of a specific component, such as, "Component Part# ABC, manufacturer Schurter, rated 250V, 10Amp, UL and/or CSA marked."

We will send that C of C with the completed product. The short of it is that we are stating those things on our C of C but we are not actually inspecting the part to see if it meets those criteria - I can fix that and I think I did. However, we are not able to trace that part back to its original manufacturer/material spec, and that's what I need help with.

Here is what I've done so far: