Starting a Corrective Action Board (MRB - Material Review Board)?

B

Brian Myers

All,

I have been handed a most ticklish challenge.

As background, I am a Mechanical Engineer with experience as an Automotive Quality Engineer and Production/Manufacturing Engineer and most recently as a Program Manager for Audio Equipment. I have been through 3 ISO/QS Initial Audits and worked for companies on both sides of the certification fence (currently the company I work for is not - and probably never will be:mad: ). I am also just 15 days away from sitting for my CQE!!:yes:

Anyway, until two days ago I was a Supplier Quality Analyst for this company (long story, involves a "dog house" and some bad blood between myself and the COO :argue: ) I have finally been "promoted" to Engineering status again and have been asked to help set my own "long term" goals (since only 2 other people in this entire organization actually understand what I do !:frust: )

As part of these goals I have been asked to consider starting what they called a "Corrective Action Board". Has anyone heard this term? I am familiar with Material Review Boards (MRB), but we really aren't organized or operate in a way that would need an MRB. The Corrective Action Board seems like the right idea in principle, but i just can't put my head around the actual logistics of such a group.

What would be a reasonable charter?
What sort of people should sit on this board?
How do I get "traction" for action based on the MRB recommendations?

Any help would be much appreciated!:thanx:

Brian Myers

M

M Caruso