Using internal audits as part of document reviews

cgaro62

Starting to get Involved
Hi All,

I am an experienced quality assurance professional that includes implementing ISO 9001:2015, 13485:2016, AS9100D management systems, as well as ISO 19011:2018. I was advised by an ISO consultant that internal audits could not be used to meet the requirement of the periodic review of documents for applicability to whatever process the document covered. I cannot find anything in any of the above mentioned standards that states that internal audits cannot be used for periodic review of documents. Does anyone know where this is mentioned, which standard?

If I am assigned to conduct a process audit, part of that audit is to review the current process against the controlled process procedure/documents to determine if the process is compliant to the procedure. Why couldn't I use this review to also meet the requirement to review the document for applicability?

Regards,
Cgaro

Ninja

Looking for Reality
Trusted Information Resource
FWIW, I think you'll get more value out of your IAs if you focus on "are you following the docs?" rather than "are the docs right?"

Based solely on the desire to get as much value as possible out of an IA (see the rest of my posts here)...I suggest that they NOT be combined.

That said, a finding in an IA because the docs are outdated should result (through CA) in updating the docs...but that is an effect, not a cause.

Cari Spears

Super Moderator
Leader
Super Moderator
I'm not familiar with 13485, but there isn't a requirement for "periodic review" in ISO9001 or AS9100.

We set up our own internal requirement to review the Quality Policy Manual, our Quality Policy, our Interested Parties and Issues List, and our Order Management Procedure annually. Otherwise, we review documents during internal audits, as you described, and if a process changes at any time, any related documents are reviewed and updated.

Mike S.

Happy to be Alive