Why doesn't the BOM go in the DHF?

ga2qa23

Involved In Discussions
Hello all, I'm a newbie and I'm having incredible difficulty understanding the difference between the DHF, DMR, and where the BOM (Bill of Materials) is supposed to fit into both of them. I would greatly appreciate some real-life examples, because all these vague regulatory definitions are of zero help when trying to do it in the real world.

I have an electrical medical device with a circuit board inside and its own software. It's a simple Class 2 device on the low-risk side. We coded the software ourselves. We're not building anything in-house. I'm purchasing everything (custom-made circuit board, hardware, a plastic shell, etc.) from third-party contract manufacturers, and it'll be send to a separate vendor for final assembly, packaging, and sterilization.

I read through the FDA regulations, webinars, and guidances on design controls. It says that the "Design Outputs" of the Design History File (DHF) are the assembly drawings, component drawings, and source code.

In this FDA webinar: fda DOT gov/media/89241/download
FDA states the following:
  • Design Outputs are included in premarket submissions as Device Specifications.
  • The finished design output is the basis for the Device Master Record (DMR).
  • The total finished design output consists of the device, its packaging, labeling, and the Device Master Record (DMR).
Then in this separate FDA webinar: fda DOT gov/media/118202/download
FDA states that the DMR includes "Device Specifications" which include the following:
  • Bill of Materials
  • Drawings and schematics
  • List of Ingredients
  • Component Specifications
  • Material Composition
  • Formulations
  • Assemblies
  • Software specifications
OK so what does this all actually mean in the real world?