Would switching from automotive industry to a bicycle manufacturing industry be a good move?

toniriazor

Involved In Discussions
Hello again,

I was recently about to accept new position in a small automotive company, but decided not to. Now on the table came up a position for Quality Head in a top manufacturing bicycle company in Europe with year growth of about 40 percent, new base and modern technology. Mainly e-bikes low end and high end.
I have 6 years of experience in the automotive sector and I am not sure whether going to another industry is a good strategy for my personal development or better stick to automotive? The pay is even higher compared to what I was offered for the other automotive company and since it has around 300 employees it is also quite a dynamic workplace with many quality problems on internal /external level + supplier issues, according to company management when I spoke with them. What is your opinion? Is changing industries a good move or not? I find it challenging and with a lot of possibilities to learn and see new processes and products.

Thanks for any advices and input.

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
I changed industries many time. Started in the Semiconductor fabrication industry, moved to electric motors, then to automotive (Honda) then to Aircraft engines then to Winches to Electronic board assembly then to veterinary diagnostic testing (instruments, rapid assay tests and laboratory testing).

Changing industries challenges, broadens and deepens your skills. Staying in one industry can make you stale and dependent ton what works 10 years ago…

Randy

Super Moderator
Trust me, your proposed change is child's play compared to what I've done since I was 17.

As a person who has taken off in more airplanes than he has landed in I tell folks to THINK, if you feel comfortable, JUMP, if not, sit down and figure something else to do. $50 to jump out of an airplane may not really be that good of a deal.