MDD Article 12 Labeling Requirements for CE Marked Medical Device - Help

fialor

Involved In Discussions
My company makes a device which is CE marked as a whole.
However one of the components in the device is itself CE marked(a device in itself), and the CE mark is visible on the component at point of use.
NB advises that this requires an article 12 labelling.

I disagree that this is required as the component is incorporated into our device. I amybe wrong - please enlighten me if I am.

I do accept though that labelling of some sort is required here so the user is aware of whom to contact as the sole manufacturer of the device.

My question is what labelling and wording? I am new to procedure packs and not sure this is straight forward. Can you help?
Thanks

Last edited:

Ronen E

Problem Solver
My company makes a device which is CE marked as a whole.
However one of the components in the device is itself CE marked(a device in itself), and the CE mark is visible on the component at point of use.
NB advises that this requires an article 12 labelling.

I disagree that this is required as the component is incorporated into our device. I amybe wrong - please enlighten me if I am.

I do accept though that labelling of some sort is required here so the user is aware of whom to contact as the sole manufacturer of the device.

My question is what labelling and wording? I am new to procedure packs and not sure this is straight forward. Can you help?
Thanks

Is your device conceived as a procedure pack?

Article 12 is voluntary. You are at liberty to handle your device as a "normal" medical device, and there are no special requirements that I'm aware of for normal devices that contain components that are already CE marked in their own right (even if they're also medical devices in their own right). Article 12 is supposed to save you work and be an easier / simpler route to market (where it is relevant). It's not meant as extra-burden if you already follow Article 11.