DPPM? Scrap? Both? How to report Returns

Rambo

Starting to get Involved
My colleagues,

I am a manager at a manufacturer. We make and ship several hundred part numbers, daily. We are having discussions about reporting returns, and I would like to find some objective input.

Suppose 100 units are returned for defects. We sort through the 100, and find that actually only 25 are defective. Our options for reporting:

1) Scrap the 25 and report it as the day we performed the sort. Even though it doesn't reflect the manufacturing of that day, the reporting on the original date of manufacture was "understated", because defects were shipped. Anyway, the other 75 will be shipped and sold that day too, so "credit" would also be given.

2) Forget about scrap reporting, just count the 25 defects in our DPPM reporting.

3) Do #1 above, but also count the 25 into the DPPM metric.

How is this handled in your facility?

normzone

Trusted Information Resource
Re: DPPM? Scrap? Both? How to report returns

Given your situation, by my standards your outfit is both high mix and high volume. Your outlook may differ. It would be interesting to know the nature of your product line. Is the example purely theoretical or is it possible to produce and ship 75% conforming product?

Does the organization do anything constructive with the DPPM data, or is it simply dashboarding?

1) is unrealistic - does the process output conformance vary greatly by day? I'd be upset if my number for the day got tweaked by the timing of a return.

2) makes a little more sense, but if you're shipping that much nonconforming product then the process is out of control.

3) makes even less sense to me.

Perhaps I'm not the guy to be responding to you - I work in a high mix/low volume environment. I'd be more concerned about getting at defect causes in a given part number group, rather than looking at a broad PPM picture.

Re: DPPM? Scrap? Both? How to report returns