Quality Testing for Tea, Electronic Noses and Such

john.b

Involved In Discussions
Greetings! I work in IT and usually post about that--just not frequently--but I'm researching a subject related to my hobby, tea reviewing. A US tea producer mentioned that people work on developing quality testing by machines or chemical processes that eventually will take some of the place of taste testing by a human. Sounds horrible, doesn't it?

He was positive about it, for one main reason: it would be objective. As things stand in a developed industry like China's there really can be some consistency in agreement on quality level / grading of teas but there would always be some degree of looseness related to evaluations. Part would relate to people exaggerating claims about quality, and there being no way to really evaluate those. I'm talking about taste here, although issues related to contaminants do come up.

How could an "electronic nose" or lab tests even conceivably test the taste of tea? At a guess there are a few levels related to that as possible answers, beyond saying it wouldn't be possible. I'm asking for input about it here, not just explaining it, but I get it that's a longshot. There are a few main categories of compound types in teas, and it would relatively easy to test for concentrations of those as a set. The larger problem is that each general type is expressed as lots of individual chemical compounds (with caffeine as something of an exception--that's one thing), the distribution of which would be the main input to tea flavor. Testing for hundreds of individual compounds grouped as several main types would be problematic. Testing what is in a tea that shouldn't be, essentially doing what our tongues do, to taste it all in one go, wouldn't be so simple.