Approved Statistical Calculator for ASQ Certification Exams

gard2372

Quite Involved in Discussions
:confused: I'm studying for the ASQ CQE Exam, I did take two courses in Stats for Business I & II in college, so I know the basics, now I have to do a lot of refreshing for the heavily biased CQE exam.

I read a post from 2002 regarding the ASQ rules for calculator use during the ASQ Certification exams. The rule states that no aplhabetic keypad calculators may be used during the exam. The postee said he even emailed ASQ stating that his calculator had a shifted alpha key (same as mine) and not an aplhabetic keypad. Does anyone know if ASQ has posted an approved calculator list? I'm very comfortable with using a TI-83 graphing calculator also because it was the required calculator in my college. I also like it because of the the statistical functions it has (one-two Var, Lin regress, STD Deviation, z/t test, ANVOA, etc..) If anyone can shed some light on this subject I'd greatly appreciate it.

I did email ASQ asking them for clarification to what an aplhabetic keypad calculator is. The college board refers to them as QWERTY type, like a traditional keyboard.

In the mean time, can anyone recommend a good approved scientific calculator esay to use/learn with one-two Var STAT capabilities STD. Dev etc.. Your help is greatly Appreciated :D

Regards,

Rob :agree:

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
"Heavily biased CQE exam"... hmmm. Yes, a lot of statistics. I actually feel like you will do okay, as half of the statistics, as I remember, were on application; the other half was on computation given word problems and of course they were all multiple choice answers.

ASQ's CQE booklet says:

"Calculator Policy: With the introduction of palmtop computers
and the increasing sophistication of scientific calculators,
ASQ has become increasingly aware of the need to limit the
types of calculators that are permitted for use during