European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) vs. ISO 9001

J

jamesscs

I work in the public sector and the particular department I work for has gone through significant change. No issues with that. However, the Senior Management Team are actively encouraging the use of an EFQM model that has been developed by local government. This has led to divisions within the new structure to consider not continuing the registrations to ISO9001. The argument is based on that there is no need for ISO9001.
What does the rest of the world think?

Wes Bucey

Prophet of Profit
Re: European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM)

A lot of folks probably were unaware of exactly what you meant with the acronym EFQM, so I changed your thread title to reflect it
European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM)

AndyN

Moved On

I believe that the EFQM is modelled after the Baldridge Quality Award criteria, here in the USA.

Anyone who knows much about ISO 9001 and registration and the (very comprehensive) Baldridge Quality Award criteria would possibly agree with the folks in the UK who are dissenting. There is quite a difference between the two, in my experience, althought the gap was closed with the advent of ISO 9K2K.

What it takes to be evaluated against Baldridge compared to an ISO 9001 compliance audit is substantial and, therefore, if the model is EFQM, maintaining an ISO registration might not seem very value added.

Anyone else got this kind of experience?

J

Jimmy the Brit

I work in the public sector and the particular department I work for has gone through significant change. No issues with that. However, the Senior Management Team are actively encouraging the use of an EFQM model that has been developed by local government. This has led to divisions within the new structure to consider not continuing the registrations to ISO9001. The argument is based on that there is no need for ISO9001.
Hi jamesscs,