Documents and Records - Difference between and How to control Documents and Records?

PrissiDe

Registered
Hello, I am fairly new to AS9100 and I am trying to write the procedure for Control of Documents. I am getting very confused on what the difference between Document and Records? Can anyone help me sort the two out?

Also I am trying to figure out a way to contol my doucments. Does anyone have any suggestions on ways to control my documents?

Thank you,
Brittani

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
Re: Difference between Documents and Records? How to control them?

Hello, I am fairly new to AS9100 and I am trying to write the procedure for Control of Documents. I am getting very confused on what the difference between Document and Records? Can anyone help me sort the two out?

Also I am trying to figure out a way to contol my doucments. Does anyone have any suggestions on ways to control my documents?

Thank you,
Brittani

There's a simple tool to help you remember:
  • A document says: DO
  • A record says: DONE
Stijloor.

Randy

Super Moderator

1st...Welcome to the Cove:bigwave:

Next, just use the Standard because your best answers are contained there.

From ISO 9000:2005 (which is referenced in clause 3 of AS9100)

3.7.2 document
information (3.7.1) and its supporting medium

3.7.6 record
document (3.7.2) stating results achieved or providing evidence of activities performed

How do you control them? As required by AS9100

B

Blogpostwriter

Just put it as simple as this. Not all documents are considered records, but all records can be considered as documents. Documents can be treated as a generic term and records as the brand name.

Last edited by a moderator:
D

ddunn

Regarding control:
Documents (manuals, procedures, processes, instructions...) change
Records do not change

Q

quality person

Hope this helps

Records - cannot be amended ( if amended it becomes manipulation)
Documents - can be amended. (format is a document. Filled format becomes a record)