ISO 13485 Sec 7.4 - Supplier Selection, Evaluation and Re-evaluation

H

Haisoj Lesleh

Hello all,

Although I have spent many hours on these forums, this is my first time posting. So let me start by saying that it is truly amazing to have access to such great material from brilliant minds across the world!

And speaking of brilliant, I hope someone out there has the brain power to help me out with an ISO problem. My company is ISO 13485 certified. We just completed an audit, and the auditor found several minor nonconformities. In particular, he noted that "It was observed that the procedure for supplier qualification does not clearly define the criteria for supplier selection, evaluation and re-evaluation as well as what records are maintained to demonstrate conformance." He verbally explained to me that the root of our problem was that we were not qualifying companies who supply basic office materials, including our toilet paper (yes, I specifically asked) which, no doubt, can have a dramatic effect on quality throughout an organization and should be monitored accordingly :sarcasm:.

Based on what I have seen in other posts, many experts would tell this auditor to go back to auditor school and take better notes this time. I would love tell him that, but I need to be able to back up my disagreement with substance based on the ISO 13485 standard itself. And the standard does require our company to evaluate and select suppliers (see section 7.4 of the ISO 13485:2003 text) - granted, the type and extent of control may vary, but there is no clause saying that SOME suppliers require essentially no control.