Client requires to witness an Internal Audit of our Sub-Contractor

A

alex_pmt25

Dear Experts,

I am an internal auditor of a company. One of our prestigious client requires to witness an internal audit of one of our sub-contractor by us.

We are basically into engineering design and consultancy (oil and gas). We have outsourced a part of the design project i.e. instrumentation and mechanical to a sub-contractor.

I am a novice as far as auditing is concerned. Can anyone guide me.
What are the things I should look into?
What are the questions I should ask our sub-contractor?
What are the records I should check with our sub-contractor.
Regarding document…what needed to be checked?

Please guide and advise

Alex

P

Phil Fields

Dear Experts,

I am an internal auditor of a company. One of our prestigious client requires to witness an internal audit of one of our sub-contractor by us.

We are basically into engineering design and consultancy (oil and gas). We have outsourced a part of the design project i.e. instrumentation and mechanical to a sub-contractor.

Please guide and advise

Alex

Your post brings several questions:
• Is it really an audit that the customer needs to witness?
• How was the supplier picked and added to the approved supplier list?
• Is there a contract with stated deliverables for the outsourcing?
• Are these outsourcing activities directly involved with the customer's project?

Without more details it is hard to give advice, but it sounds like a project review might be appropriate.

Phil

AndyN

Moved On
Dear Experts,

Please guide and advise

Alex

Firstly, an audit of your sub-contractor isn't, by any definition, an 'internal audit'. That audit, if done by yourself, is a second party or supplier audit. Does your client want to visit the sub-contractor to see you audit them?

The skills of an internal auditor aren't too different from a supplier auditor. You say you're an internal auditor, so don't you have any experience or training?

jkuil