CQE/SSGB Qualifications and Requirements

K

knockoutjm

Hi all,

My name is Jordan, I am pretty young, 22, and am working in a pharmaceutical packaging company in charge of the Continuous Improvement Team. I graduated with a BS in Chemical Engineering with pharmaceutical specialization. Since graduation I have worked on validation primarily but have extended much further to all quality projects where I hold total project ownership and responsibility. My employer is interested in me receiving both of these certifications eventually and wanted me to take one exam this June.

When I looked to register for them the qualifications for them are: CQE - 8 Years (4 may be college) and SSGB - 3 Years (no education). As far as it comes, I am not qualified to take either unless CQE will include the two years of research I did at college which would put me just about 8 years, definitely past that by the exam date. I spoke to someone using the chat function on the ASQ site and it was a little unsettling. The individual I spoke to was adamant that no exceptions can be made at all. I received an email from another individual at ASQ saying that the only way to find out is if I pay my application fee and get rejected where I will get a portion of the cost back. It feels like I will not be able to improve myself without waiting 2-3 years to test even if I can study and pass the exam.

I was curious if anyone here had any advice on either taking these or other certifications, ways to improve my career, and other ways. I am currently looking into a MS degree at St. Johns in Regulatory Affairs and Quality Assurance to complete in the meantime.

Thank you,
Jordan

Steve Prevette

Deming Disciple
Leader
Super Moderator
Re: CQE/SSGB Qualifications