Design Inputs and Design Control

Meddevregs_BT

Registered
Hello Everyone,
I recently joined a medical device company that manufactures class IIa medical devices for North American And European Market. I am new to the regulatory world, and do not have a lot of knowledge around design regulations/requirements. Our company adopted their design in early 2000s from another parent company but after parting ways, they did not have the design documents and have been controlling any form of design change through change control. And since their conformity route was annex V under MDD, they were "exempt" from a lot of design documentation. But during their MDR TD assessment, the assessor explicitly asked for design documents and design inputs as of ISO 13485 7.3.3, and on explaining the company history, they said we should take year when we starting maintaining design documents as year 0 and start from there. Now given this scenario, I have a few questions:
1. Can we still control our design changes via change control or do we need need to fill in design input, design output documents every time?
2. And for every design change do we need to have a separate design transfer protocol/checklist?
3. For design Inputs, is it always necessary to define functional, performance, usability and safety requirements, according to intended use? Even if the design change does not affect them?

Thank you for any kind of input!

DanMann

Quite Involved in Discussions
I'm surprised this hasn't come up in audits. Yes, you should have and maintain records of your design inputs, outputs and the rest of the design history file/design documentation and in alignment with shimonv, I would look for help from someone with experience created a DHF because it sounds like you need to retrospectively create one (which is not easy). Without knowing the design inputs for the product, how are you assessing the changes?