Develop scalable, sustainable processes

Robbie38

Registered
I am pretty new to a small company, hired as Quality Coordinator. They have been certified 9001 for a few years, and I am here to maintain it and look for improvements.

I have no formal education in Quality Management, in fact I knew nothing about QM at a previous company, where I was a production manager, and asked if I was willing to wear a different hat: establish 13485 all on my own, without a consultant. We had absolutely no quality system in place.

So I went to Net to find out what to do, and it didn't take long to realize that the Cove was by far the best resource. I spent hundreds of hours in here soaking up the Legacy content, reading threads, and asking questions. (It was under a different username, it was a long time ago and I forgot my credentials).

It took me about a year, and I got us certified, and maintained it for 7 years. I am so grateful to the Cove, it was my University.

Sorry for rambling, I just didn't want to jump in and ask a question on my 1st post without a little background and saying thanks.

My question: I was given a task: By this Monday, I am to create a bulleted list to give high level details about a goal they have given me: "Develop scalable, sustainable processes to meet future product demands". They want me to think of answering the question "How will we know when this goal has been accomplished?"

I'm somewhat mortified and don't know where to begin.
Since our processes are already in place, they are well thought out and have been in use and effective for a long time, I don't feel there is anything to 'develop'. And what really is a scalable, sustainable quality process?

To me, scalable means processes should be flexible so that as the company grows, the process easily evolves with it and guides it without having to overhaul the process? I could be way off.