Help with Electrical Safety Testing - Medical Equipment Regulations

F

failsafe

Hello Everyone,
I am new to working with medical equipment regulations. That being said, I am helping with UL-60601, ISO13485, and ISO 14971 certification at my company. The eventual goal is to obtain our CE mark. We are currently FDA listed and FCC class A certified.

My question is regarding electrical safety testing for medical equipment. Specifically, what exactly are the required tests and what products on the market will help me fulfill those requirements.

First let me give you a brief overview of our product.

• The product we produce is mains powered with a non-detachable power cord. Currently we power our equipment off of 240V AC.
    The majority of the electronics and power equipment (isolation transformer, fuses, circuit breakers, relays etc..) are located in a large painted metal box that is mounted to the wall. The lid of the metal box is locked and only accessible by qualified maintenance personnel.
  • The product never actually touches the patient. It is pretty much a patient lift. The only connection to the patient is a rope and harness.
  • We install our products at medical facilities and we make it mandatory that we service them once a year.

I am looking to comply with UL60601-1 electrical safety testing requirements for every product we produce. Heres a list of question regarding that:

1. Is there a list of all of the types of electrical testing that needs to be done?
    example: Insulation testing, ground bond, etc...
    I have looked at UL-60601-1, but find it a bit confusing and overwhelming.
    A simple of list of required test and acceptable limits would be great.
  2. Any recommendations on which products to purchase in order to comply to those test?