Incoming parts inspection in automotive industry

I

IMQCP

Hello,

I am an intern doing a project on incoming parts inspection procedures in automotive industry. Would someone please tell me where I can find information on receiving inspection procedures followed by different firms in the automotive industry?

Thanks in advance:thanx: :cfingers:

CarolX

Trusted Information Resource
IMQCP said:
Hello,

I am an intern doing a project on incoming parts inspection procedures in automotive industry. Would someone please tell me where I can find information on receiving inspection procedures followed by different firms in the automotive industry?

Hi IMQCP,

Your question is pretty general, and really can't be answered. Receiving inspection procedures can vary widely depending on the product under inspection.

For example, I perform physical inspection on machined parts. Parts that return from our finishing vendor is inspection for count and condition only.

I

IMQCP

CarolX,

Thank you for ur reply. I am looking for examples of incoming inspection procedures for engine parts like cams, gaskets etc.

:thanks:
IMQCP

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
IMQCP said:
Hello,

As Carol suggested, your question is difficult to answer. Companies have widely varying methods of receiving inspection--some don't do it at all, others inspect some parts but not others, sampling methods vary, etc., etc., and the inspection done by automotive companies isn't much different from what's done by none-automotive companies. Companies are not likely to have published their methods anywhere, so it's not likely that you'll be able to find any primary sources for information. If you have specific questions about methods, you'll get plenty of help here, but I'm not sure anyone will be able to give you another source for information.

T

Toefuzz - 2006