Missed Quarterly Dose Audit! Sterilization Validation of Medical Devices

T

Tara QA

Hello to All ..

I was wondering if somebody, more learned than I on sterilisation validation of Medical devices could help me out!

Having reviewed the schedule, I have 4 sucessful dose audits but i've noticed that one particular dose audit was missed meaning there is a gap of 6 months between the two. I am hoping to pull together a justification for the delay, and I am hoping to get a sanity check from someone.

Provided we can demonstrate the validation did not go out between the two dates (boths reports are fine), that we've controlled our environments, and that bioburden has been determined for each batch released in this time period complied (and were well with initially used for dose setting).. would this be sufficient to demonstrate control?

T.

Marcelo

Inactive Registered Visitor
I'm not a sterilization expert, so i will also wait for the opinion of others....anyone?

Last edited by a moderator:
J

jscholen

We do quarterly dose audit reports and I believe that if you can show that the process hasn't changed (product or process) with some high level of assurance then you should be fine. I don't think anyone will push back. Mistakes happen but...you need to open a CAPA to investigate why it happened and establish a corrective action to prevent it from happening again. This will close the loop on your quality system showing it to be effective.

J

JaxQC

sufficient to demonstrate control?”

The only problem is that it’s not in control. Otherwise the audit would not have been missed. Normal mistake, yes but a robust system prevents this through checks & balances. The risk might be low based on the overlap of the others but basically the “we do what we say” did not occur regardless if the testing results were bad or not.