Question about what FDA looks for in equipment validation

A

AB1957

Hello,

This is my first time using Elsmar, I hope I'm in the right section.

I'm trying to validate a piece of custom equipment used to manufacture a drug regulated by the FDA. One critical parameter is the process speed, which is controlled by a motor, gears, encoder, motor controller, firmware, etc.

Question: Can I treat the entire system as a black box, ignore its inner workings, and demonstrate with test data that the equipment is capable of a consistent process speed that makes a consistent drug that is safe and effective for the patient? Or does the FDA care about the inner workings of this black box, thereby requiring me to document what motor, gears, etc are inside the system?

These are the 2 opposing viewpoints in the company I work for, and I would like to learn which viewpoint is the correct one for the FDA. Thanks in advance.

QAengineer13

Quite Involved in Discussions
Hello,

This is my first time using Elsmar, I hope I'm in the right section.

I'm trying to validate a piece of custom equipment used to manufacture a drug regulated by the FDA. One critical parameter is the process speed, which is controlled by a motor, gears, encoder, motor controller, firmware, etc.

Question: Can I treat the entire system as a black box, ignore its inner workings, and demonstrate with test data that the equipment is capable of a consistent process speed that makes a consistent drug that is safe and effective for the patient? Or does the FDA care about the inner workings of this black box, thereby requiring me to document what motor, gears, etc are inside the system?

These are the 2 opposing viewpoints in the company I work for, and I would like to learn which viewpoint is the correct one for the FDA. Thanks in advance.