What is required to start a calibration service company

Jneil

Registered
Hello everyone, I am looking to start my own local calibration service after years of non-responsive and overbooked services in our area resulting in delayed calibrations of equipment, deviations and non-compliance (I have been a lab manager/general manager in laboratories for 20 years).
My question is, I would like to be an on-site service only; i.e without a home-based lab. I would travel and perform services at the company in question.
In your opinions, is this a viable option, would you contract with that type of service?
I believe in this scenario I would only require calibration technician certification and the required compliance documentation to accompany any equipment I used to perform calibrations (initially pipettes and balances), but are there any other pitfalls this community could convey I may not be considering?
I am well versed in calibration requirements and compliance requirements; R&D, GLP and GMP, just not from a vendor perspective.
Thank you, Jessica

Steve Prevette

Deming Disciple
Leader
Super Moderator
You mentioned you would be "without a home based lab". If you are transporting your equipment to the faciilty to do the calibration, that involves the risk of not knowing the pedigree of the customer's equipment (and why would they not calibrate it themselves) or if you are transporting the calibration equipment, then it may get jostled (such as your balance) and may fall out of calibration during tranpsort. You also need to manage the calibration of your equipment against stricter standard sources.

There is also the issue of providing the correct documentation to the customer if their equipment is found to be out of calibration and would not be surprised if you needed to coach them on corrective actions.

Ed Panek

QA RA Small Med Dev Company
Leader
Super Moderator