Setting up ISO9001 system - when to start internal auditing?

J

John Mann

Hello All,
As this is my first posting here let me introduce myself. I am an electronic engineer working for a small company (4 employees) in the UK. I have been given the task of setting up an ISO9001 quality system, the boss would like us to have gained certification by the end of the year.

I am not a Quality professional, but have worked to ISO9001 in other companies.

My question is this, for the certification audit will we be expected to have already carried out a programme of internal audits, or will it be acceptable, since we are just starting out, merely to have an audit programme scheduled for the future?

Thanks, John.

antoine.dias

Quite Involved in Discussions
The IAF (International accreditation forum) guide states the following on that matter:
" quote :
IAF Guidance to clause 2.1.5. (G.2.1.42. – G.2.1.45.)

G.2.1.42. Clause 2.1.5 of ISO/IEC Guide 62 does not mention a specific period in which at least one complete internal audit and one management review of the organization’s quality management system shall take place.
The certification/registration body may specify a period.

Irrespective of whether the certification/registration body has chosen to specify a minimum frequency, measures shall be established by the certification/registration body to ensure the effectiveness of the organization’s management review and internal audit processes.

G.2.1.43. Certification/registration shall not be granted until there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the arrangements for management review and internal audit have been implemented, are effective and will be maintained." unquote.