New Manager

EducationChaser

Registered
I've been in my current position for a year. Prior, I was a plant quality engineer managing quality and ISO 14001. Currently, I am a quality and continuous improvement manager for a small start up. I was gave 6 weeks training internationally. 10+ years of experience in quality, but only 2 years experience managing people. We are currently expanding. Adding robotic welding cells to our metal fabrication facility. Company, will send me international again to further learning on welding. As well, I have a masters in Engineering. Question is: I'm currently making about 80,000. On my annual review scored highly and received a 5% raise, 25% monthly salary bonus, and 8% yearly bonus as part of profit sharing.
Is this an average salary for someone so green?
Also:
They won't officially give me the quality manager title, even though I am. Act as one. Etc I'm the primary contact for all things quality, manage, created and implemented the qms. Prepared and got the facility iso 9001 certified.
Does the title matter?

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Titles vary widely across different sized companies and become somewhat meaningless. I remember visiting a small supplier when I was in automotive where the person functioning as a plant manager was titled President, the person functioning as a production manager was titled Plant Manager. A shop floor inspector was the Quality Director and so forth. This was about a 20-person company. I guess they needed the title inflation to attract people.

Unless you are planning to leave this company and needed to make your resume look better, a title is just ego stroking.

Ron Rompen

Trusted Information Resource